Raw Video Footage & Storyboard

0:00 – 0:03

Video: There is a still title frame that says “Piano Improv for Beginners.”

Audio: There is an upbeat song that I will play and record. It is similar to elevator music.

 

0:04 – 0:13

Video: I am on camera, introducing what the video will be about.

Audio: The only audio is my speech, which goes along the lines of, “I want everyone to have a shot at improvising on piano, even if they don’t have any musical experience yet. That’s why I’m showing you all a few steps for a good way to begin improvising.”

 

0:14 – 0:16

Video: There is a still title frame that says “Step 1: Practice the F Blues Scale.”

Audio: The same elevator song from before plays.

 

0:17 – 0:46

Video: My hands are shown on the piano. They demonstrate what I talk about in the audio.

Audio: The audio includes the piano notes I play and my speech, which goes along the lines of, “These notes I’m playing make up the F Blues scale. The first thing you’ll want to do for this lesson is practice going up and down the scale for a little while. Do it with both hands, too. It shouldn’t take too long to really get used to these notes.”

 

0:47 – 0:49

Video: There is a still title frame that says “Step 2: Make a Bassline.”

Audio: The elevator song plays.

 

0:50 – 1:19

Video: My left hand is shown on the piano. It demonstrates what I talk about in the audio.

Audio: This includes the piano notes I play and my speech, which goes along the lines of, “Now that you’re comfortable with the F Blues scale, try playing any four notes in the scale down here with your left hand. When you have a sequence of four notes you like, play that sequence over and over again. This is something we call a bassline.”

 

1:20 – 1:22

Video: There is a still title frame that says “Step 3: Play Random Stuff with Your Right Hand.”

Audio: The elevator song plays.

 

1:23 – 1:52

Video: My right hand is shown on the piano. It demonstrates what I talk about in the audio.

Audio: This includes the piano notes I play and my speech, which goes along the lines of, “Now that you’ve made up a bassline, we can move on to the melody. To do that, just play random notes on the F Blues scale with your right hand. Do that while you play your bassline with your left hand. Don’t worry, it’s fine to do this very slowly at first before you get good at using both hands together. When you start out, you’ll probably think your right-hand melodies sound terrible. But, it only takes a little bit of time before you figure out which combinations of notes sound good to you.”

 

1:53 – 2:00

Video: My hands are shown on the piano, playing a song in the style I demonstrated in the previous step. This video clip is in black and white.

Audio: The audio only includes the music that I’m playing in the video.

Leave a Reply

