Reflection Blog Post

Well, here we are. It’s the end of the semester. What that means is it’s time to write reflection pieces for any content creation-type classes.

For this class, the first line of order is talking about my favorite assignment. If I must choose one, it’s probably the Audio Story. I had always wondered what building music through an audio program was like, and with this project, I finally got to find out. Because my story involved putting together multiple voices on my electric keyboard to make complex songs, I could try my hand at being a sort-of DJ. It’s a pretty empowering feeling to make a complex song by myself, and I owe my discovery of that feeling to this assignment. Plus, I really enjoyed the creative freedom I was allowed. I was able to use my unusual hobby of piano improv to create a unique podcast wherein an interviewee uses improvised music to speak.

I’m definitely grateful to this course for showing me the ins and outs of Adobe software. Those surely count as skills I can use in the future. Before this class, I hardly understood the hype around this weird Adobe thing. However, now, I’m fascinated with the freedom for creation all the software provides, and I understand just how useful it can be for making high-quality material in the business world.

I may or may not actually use Adobe software often during my career, but knowledge of it will be valuable nonetheless. That’s because I’m not particularly sure what I want my career to be, but I do know it will be somewhere in the advertising industry. I’m pretty sure things like Photoshop and Premiere make up some of the most common programs in ad creation, so knowing the capabilities and limitations of those programs will come in handy time and time again.

Although, there is one more thing I wish I knew from this class. That would be music composition in an audio program. I mentioned before that making songs in Audition was incredibly satisfying. However, Audition is terrible for making music in, and I don’t mean just any kind of ‘terrible.’ I mean the ‘getting attacked by a bear and two goats’ kind of ‘terrible.’ I would have loved learning how to build music in a program more dedicated to that. I understand most students aren’t interested in that or would be particularly benefitted by that, but I think an extra credit assignment on piecing bits of music together would have been awesome.

Other than websites listed in class readings, I found a grand total of zero helpful resources. To be more specific, I found boatloads of helpful sites for content creation. Unfortunately, they hardly ever applied to the objectives laid out in this class. “Narrative creation” is a design idea rather unique to Com 210, so no outside resources are extremely helpful for teaching about how to adhere to that idea.

I suppose I can wrap things up by making a suggestion for this class. I could talk about expanding the scope of what students can create, but I won’t. Instead, I’ll suggest that one of the available formats given by the Video Story instructions be removed. It is the instructional video format (which cites the YouTube channels Health Guru and Food Tube as examples). All assignments in this class apparently must be narrative-based, so mentioning that format as being available is misleading.

Now, that concludes my final blog post. Yep, this blog will probably never be updated or even seen again. It will probably fade into memory so distant that the memory of forcing soap speckles out of a low-maintenance public bathroom dispenser this afternoon will be more remarkable. But hey, writing this blog has been a fun experience, and I’m grateful to this class for letting me have it. This is the only time I’ve been able to get my voice heard by almost no one.

Leave a Reply

